17. A Mindfulness Success

Just a short success story to share – last night I had completed most of my goals but I still had 20 minutes of exercise to complete. However, by about 7:30pm I found myself in a bit of a slump mood. Usually if I found myself in this mood, I would think, “Oh who cares about doing exercise. Stuff it,” and just give up on my goals for the evening. Sometimes I would be disappointed that I stuffed up on one goal, and just give up on all goals completely.

Last night I made a change to this pattern. I decided that instead of being a quitter, I would be a winner. So even though I didn’t feel like it, I got up and I did my exercise. I focused my mind on the present activity I was doing, not my emotions. I had made a commitment to do exercise, and I needed to stick to it – and I did.

So that was my little random success to share.

It is good to see that even when I am in bad mood, or find myself in a bad head space, I can practice some mindfulness, clear my head and get on with the present.

What do you think? Let me know!

