8. Living in the present

I was going to talk about My Own Man, the documentary, but I haven’t had a chance to watch it yet.

I am finding it hard at the moment because I feel like I am not in control of my future. I have always been pretty future focused, but I am not in a position right now where I can make plans past even the next couple of months.

I am pretty sure wise people would say that it is actually advantageous to focus on the present instead of worrying/thinking all about the future – according to google, Mindfulness is all about living in the present, so I will have to do a bit of research into that.

Lao Tzu said:

“If you are depressed, you are living in the past. If you are anxious you are living in the future. If you are at peace you are living in the present.”

I think the practice of meditation is also helpful for just focusing on the here and now and not being distracted about the future, and things that are so far out of control. I always thought of meditation as some weirdo kooky thing, so I still have to remind myself that I have found it beneficial so far, and it is something that I should continue.

So that is what I am going to work on – living in the present. My present conditions pretty much make it impossible to think about the future, so the present is where it’s at.

I have found two books: Mindfulness in Plain English and Mindfulness for Dummies. Hopefully these will give me some much needed info and insight into how I can live in the moment.

Screen Shot 2015-03-11 at 9.48.43 pm

If I get anything good out of the books, I will journal about it here.

Good things about today:

  • Great chat with my daughter 🙂 I love her reading books with me, and to me.
  • Finding the Mindfulness book so I can find out more about it.
  • Made some $$ from my job.
What do you think? Let me know!

